I AM A STATE CHAMPION FOR KNOWLEDGE BOWL???? // storytime with Tova

I’ve never been a competitive type, not athletic. Honestly, I kind of hate competitions because I rarely win things. So, growing up I never really did competitive sports. But in 10th grade, I took a chance and joined Knowledge Bowl. Knowledge Bowl is basically academic trivia, it’s sort of like Jeopardy, and is kind of a high school version of Quiz Bowl.

55500776_3000249820015442_4111748672666992640_o (2)
I love this picture because we are all looking in different directions.

Three seasons later, I am so glad I took that chance and joined. I’ve had an absolute blast. Some of my random knowledge has been put to use, and it’s been really fun to be a part of a team. My school has a reputation to Knowledge Bowl, my first year, the team that went to State, won the meet for our division, and then last year, I was an alternate for the state team, and we won second place, which was amazing. It feels so good to be at the very top of the league, and then came around this year, and every single meet, we dominated, furthering our reputation. We were mostly seniors, and so at the top of our game, regionals was a breeze and then last Saturday it was off to State and …

WE WON 1ST PLACE IN THE WASHINGTON STATE 2B DIVISION MAKING US WASHINGTON STATE CHAMPIONS!!!

55614094_3000429063330851_6555046509551812608_o
L-R: Leverett, Per, Emerson, Lazo, Tova (me) & Nick

As much as we have a reputation for knowing a ton (well, more them then me) the semi-finals were extremely anxiety-inducing, and so was the championship round, both rounds we were kind of the comebacks kids in the last 10 questions, but winning first place is honestly the best way to finish off the last season of Knowledge Bowl that the four of us out of five will ever play. I am so glad that I got to share this experience with Nick, Lazo, Emerson,  Leverett and Per, because it was amazing. ❤ But also to Lindsay, Alex, Dean, Leo, Wiley, Sam, Michael, Zach, Liliana, Sebastian, Nate, Bram, Collin, Danielle, Noah, Corinne and every other member who has been on the team with that I have forgotten. It’s been so much fun. I’m still a little shocked by our win, but none the less excited and it’s a wonderful feeling. Especially when we are eating blizzards and making Princess Bride references as the celebration.

A few specific memories:

On the written test, they spelled Shah Jahan as Shah Jehan. I, of course, corrected it.

The answer that won us the semi-final round was about the poem ‘The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock’ by T.S Eliot which was hilarious and amazing because our English teacher Kaufman had literally made us read that poem like a week before. So, part of our victory was because of him, and we are all so grateful to him for that.

The question I have been waiting for THREE YEARS, finally came during Regionals it was this: What empire was founded in 1299 by Osman I? I slammed down on the buzzer so hard, the answer — The Ottoman Empire. If you know me, you know why that question was written for me.

The best meet was honestly the last regular season one because I was on a team with my two favourites, Lindsay and Dean, who I both love so much. Aside, from my amazing state team of Nick, Lazo, Emerson, and Per.

I will always cherish my KB state sweatshirt from this year because it has my KB nickname which is Josph on it. I was trying to spell Joseph, as in Joseph Stalin, and I forgot the “e”, so therefore I became Josph. Never forget that I am the QUEEN of Rock, Paper, Scissors, Sam can read and that We “I” Are Josph Stalin.

I learned I suck at Laser tag, but nobody is shocked by that revelation.

Petyr Baeish Books  © 2019 by Tova Portmann-Bown

Leave a comment