MY TBR HATES ME *BOOKISH FRUSTERATED SCREAMING*// or the INTIMIDATING TBR BOOK TAG

So, I had a problem. Currently, my TBR is at 499*, and by the time I post this, I bet it will be higher. I read about 100 books per year, so like there is no way in hell I can read all of these books. What to do.

Related image

* take note that this is just my backlist TBR, I have at least another 600 or so to be released between 2019 and 2021.

img_3234

img_3235

*HOW DEAD I AM INSIDE INTENSIFIES*

This tag was originally created by Lindsay Rey, her channel no longer exists so, here, watch Lala’s video:

1.

What book have you been unable to finish?

The Rules of Regret by Megan Squires

21888225

I can’t count the number of times I have tried to read this book, all on audiobook which usually allows me to push forward is sad. I can’t seem to get past the second disc. So, I am officially surrendering and saying I can’t do this.

What book have you yet to read because…

2.

…you just haven’t had the time?

If They Come for Us by Fatima Asghar

36477795

This could easily be every book on my TBR, but I’ll go with this, which I’ve had out from the library for a long ass time, it’s short, and yet I haven’t read it. I WILL IN FEBRUARY. If  I don’t I give y’all permission to yell at me in the comments on my wrap up.

3.

…it’s a sequel?

Heart of Ash by Kim Liggett

35259622

The sequel to Blood and Salt which I believe I read back in 2015, I was eagerly anticipating the sequel, but yet almost a year after the release, I still haven’t touched this. I want to so I can finish this damn series.

4.

…it’s brand new?

A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi

38720939

Aside from the super expensive but totally worth it coffee table art exhibition ‘Peacock in the Desert’ that came in today, this is most my recent aqusision. It’s on my February TBR, so I’m pretty sure it will get read very soon.

5.

…you read a book by the same author and didn’t enjoy it?

Pride and Prejudice and Mistletoe by Melissa De La Cruz 

33602143

Alex & Eliza by Melissa De La Cruz 

32860355

and  The Ring and the Crown by Melissa De la Cruz

18296016

I read her Descendants Novel, Isle of the Lost and didn’t really like it, so um I am not too keen about jumping into another one of her books. Also N.H Senazai, as much as I really want to read her other books, I did not like her book;

A Ticket to India.

20487349

 Thus I am not as inclined to prioritize her other books, however important they might be on my TBR after my previous experience.

Escape from Aleppo by N. H Senzai

26146347

Saving Kabul Corner by N. H Senzai

18048966

Shooting Kabil by N. H Senzai

7788379

6.

…you’re just not in the mood for it?

Mannethorn’s Key by Simon Lindley

37908197

I bought this when I was in Canada last February when I was avoiding a storm and browsing a bookstore and the author just happened to be in signing copies. It was self-published and I had a lovely chat with him and he signed and personalized and chat with me about my own work. It was super cool. That being said, I haven’t felt the draw to read it. Perhaps I will one day.

7.

…it’s humongous?

Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts

33600

I was recommended this book by one of my brother’s frat mates after learning that I liked Bollywood films, then I looked at the page count and I was like … 😐

8.

…because it was a cover buy that turned out to have poor reviews?

Emergency Contact by Mary H.K Choi

35297272

I love this cover, but the reviews are mostly on the lower side.

9.

What is the most intimidating book in your TBR pile?

A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth

50365

I’ve read big books. I read IT, I read Padmaavat, but to this beast of a book, those are nothing. It’s not like I don’t want to read big books, I want to read Stephen King and Cassie Clare, and those themselves are intimidating, but this is on a whole new level than those. This book is 1,474 pages. I repeat. 1,474 pages. HOLY CRAP.

steezzzded

What’s the most intimidating book on your TBR? How many books are on your TBR shelf on GR? I’d love to know, in the comments!

Happy Release Day to my most Anticipated Release of 2019!!!!!

The Love & Lies of Rukhsana Ali by Sabina Khan

36362234

I don’t know when I’ll be able to get my hands on you, but I am so glad you are out in this world!!!

Petyr Baeish Books  © 2019 by Tova Portmann-Bown

Leave a comment